University of Aberdeen Institute of Dentistry

Institute of Dentistry
Cornhill Road
Aberdeen UK AB25 2ZR

Aberdeen University School of Medicine, Medical Sciences & Nutrition contains the Medical School and Dental School at the University of Aberdeen in Scotland. It also provides training and carries out research in medical sciences, nutrition, public health, dentistry, health sciences, physician associate studies at BSc, MSc, and PhD levels. The current school was formed from the merger of the former School of Medicine & Dentistry, School of Medical Sciences, and the Rowett Institute of Nutrition.

Medicine has been taught at the university since the founding of King's College in 1495. The formal establishment of a medical school supporting a broad curriculum appears to postdate 1787 when there were calls "for the establishment of a medical school" in Aberdeen.

The Institute of Education for Medical and Dental Sciences is part of the School of Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition. It is responsible for all of the education and teaching activities of the School. Its current Director is Prof Rona Patey, an anaesthetist. The Deputy Director is Prof Gordon McEwan, a physiologist. Scholarship-focused academic staff within the School mostly fall within this institute. The school’s education and teaching activities take place across both the Foresterhill Medical Campus, the University's main Old Aberdeen Campus, and Aberdeen Sports Village.

Strategy: The University of Aberdeen is committed to delivering outstanding teaching and first class research, and to achieve that, we have put people at the heart of everything that we do.

Governance: The mission, objectives and targets outlined in our Strategic Plan are approved and monitored by the governance structure of the University Court, which has corporate and legal responsibilities, and the Senatus Academicus (Senate) which is responsible for the regulation and superintendence of teaching and the promotion of research.

The General Council comprises all University graduates and certain academic staff and is empowered "to take into consideration all questions affecting the well-being and prosperity of the University, and to make representations from time to time on such questions to the University Court".

Fast Facts:

Founded in 1495, the University of Aberdeen is Scotland's third oldest university and the fifth oldest in the UK.

Ranked in the top 30 universities in the UK (Complete University Guide 2021 and The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2020).

Scottish University of the Year 2019 (The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2019).

In the top 170 universities in the world (Times Higher Education (World) 2020). Community of more than 130 nationalities, with 15,000 students. Five Nobel Laureates are associated with the University of Aberdeen. 75% of research classified as world leading (REF 2014).

Global international networks: campus in Qatar, Alliance with Curtin University and Partnerships in Sri Lanka.

1st in the UK for dentistry (Guardian University League Table 2020). 2nd in the UK for sports science (Complete University Guide 2021). Top 25 in the world for Theology, Divinity and Religious Studies, top 100 for Anthropology, Archaeology and Agriculture (2020 QS World University Rankings by subject).

The University was presented with the 2018 Queen’s Anniversary Prize for its world-class health services research. Outstanding sports facilities include Olympic-standard Aberdeen Sports Village and Aquatic Centre.

Ranked 38th in the world for Gender Equality by the Times Higher Education Impact Rankings 2020. This year, the University is marking its 525th birthday by celebrating its rich and diverse achievements of the past and with the launch of a new strategic vision .

Map of University of Aberdeen Institute of Dentistry Institute of Dentistry, Cornhill Road, Aberdeen UK AB25 2ZR

My BEST Dentists Product News