University of Tennessee

College of Dentistry
875 Union Ave
Memphis TN 38103

One of the earliest dental colleges established in the nation, the UTHSC College of Dentistry was founded in 1878 and is the third oldest public college of dentistry in the United States.

UTHSC values excellence, caring, respect, health equity, integrity, diversity and knowledge.

As the flagship statewide, public, academic health system, the mission of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center is to bring the benefits of the health sciences to the achievement and maintenance of human health, with a focus on the citizens of Tennessee and the region, by pursuing an integrated program of education, research, clinical care and public service. Employing more than 6,000 people on its faculty, staff and not-for-profit corporation faculty practice groups, UTHSC contributes more than $4 billion to the economy of Tennessee.

In 1911, the University of Tennessee first launched its Memphis campus, dedicating it solely to health science education and research. Seed programs in medicine, dentistry and pharmacy quickly flourished, and within a few short years, new programs were initiated in health professions, graduate health sciences and nursing. Each of those programs grew to become a college in its own right.

In 1963, the UT Graduate School of Medicine in Knoxville, based at the UT Medical Center, became part of the UT Health Science Center. In 1974, the UT College of Medicine in Chattanooga, based at Erlanger Health System, joined the UTHSC system.

In 2014, Saint Thomas Health in Nashville began collaborating with UTHSC to create a Nashville campus.

The University of Tennessee College of Dentistry is the dental school of the University of Tennessee. It is in Memphis, Tennessee, United States, and its facilities are part of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. The college has a four-year program and approximately 320 students.

The college was founded in Nashville, TN in 1878, making the college the oldest dental college in the Southern United States and the third oldest public dental college in the country. The college was moved to Memphis, TN in 1911 and was located in Rogers Hall on Monroe Avenue until 1978, when it was moved to the newly constructed Dunn Building, named after Governor Winfield C. Dunn, a 1955 graduate of the school.

In 2002, the DentSim laboratory was added to the preclinical academic curriculum in an effort to include advanced computer technology to enhance learning. The DentSim is a group of 40 workstations, each containing high-speed handpieces, suction tips, a patient manikin, and a computer. With the use of several sensors, computers monitor the actions of students and return feedback.

The UT dental college is fully accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Curriculum for the college includes courses on the basic sciences, including biochemistry, microbiology, pathology, histology, and anatomy. Dental courses include advanced pain control, oral pathology, and advanced oral radiology. Several optional courses are also offered.

On October 12, 2005, a Shelby County grand jury indicted 68 people alleged to be part of an embezzlement scheme which targeted the UT dental college. Agents for the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation found that about $130,000 was embezzled by three former employees of the college via reimbursement checks, which is reserved for patients at the college. The crime occurred between August 15, 2002 and November 3, 2003. To date, two of the former employees, Connie Ackerson and Alberta Paylor, have been arrested.

The UT dental college offers several graduate programs in specialty fields of dentistry. These programs include oral and maxillofacial surgery, periodontology, pediatric dentistry, prosthodontics and orthodontics. The college also offers a program in Advanced Education in General Dentistry (AEGD).

Map of University of Tennessee College of Dentistry, 875 Union Ave, Memphis TN 38103

My BEST Dentists Product News