University of Toronto Faculty of Dentistry

School of Dentistry
124 Edward Street
Toronto Ontario M5G 1G6

The Faculty of Dentistry offers a graduate program leading to either a Master of Science or Doctor of Philosophy. This graduate program appeals to applicants, both dentists and non-dentists, who are pursuing graduate research training.

Consequently, both the MSc and the PhD degrees have a common core of coursework, with the PhD degree requiring additional coursework and research training. MSc students will receive base graduate funding (stipend and tuition payment) for two years, and PhD students will received base graduate funding for five years.

See the Master of Science section below:

1. Thesis Option.

See the Doctor of Philosophy sections below:

1. Full-Time Research Program and

3. Flexible-Time Option.

Comprehensive educational programming and patient care The Faculty of Dentistry offers robust and comprehensive educational training programs:

DDS MSc degrees, with or without specialty training PhD degrees IDAPP and other specialty programs Our school embraces a model of community outreach and care, and our internationally known and multidisciplinary research mission, the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Toronto continues to earn us a reputation as one of the top dental schools in North America. Throughout our 145 years years of dental education--the oldest, largest and most comprehensive training program in Canada--we have striven to graduate the highest quality of students while providing the public the highest standards of care.

We are driven by our vision to improve health by advancing dentistry through inspired leadership, innovation, and excellence in education, research and practice. Learn about our leaders, our mission and our values via the sections below, or visit our Publications section and read our Strategic Plan, 2019-22, our Dean's Annual Report, and more.

The University of Toronto Faculty of Dentistry is a dental school located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. It is one of the ten dental schools in Canada. It is the largest dental school in Canada with a range of undergraduate and graduate level programs and an enrolment of around 610 students (not including specialty or residency programs). The faculty is located at the heart of Downtown Toronto's Discovery District, a neighbourhood with a high concentration of hospitals and research institutes, just south of the University of Toronto's St. George campus. In 2014, the Faculty of Dentistry joined the Toronto Addis Ababa Academic Collaboration (TAAAC), providing support in building capacity for oral health in Ethiopia by creating collaborative teaching opportunities.

In 1868, the Province of Ontario passed the "Act Respecting Dentistry". This Act granted the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario (RCDSO) dual responsibilities of licensing and dental education in Ontario. In 1875, the Royal College of Dental Surgeons was founded, with its first semester schedule to start on November 3, 1875. Under the Act, the RCDS could grant a Licentiate of Dental Surgery (LDS), which was not a formal degree, but training that granted those interested in a license to practice dentistry in Ontario. James Branston Willmott was the first Dean of the school. Dr. Willmott, joined by Dr. Luke Teskey were the only two professors guiding the first class of eleven students in 1875–1876. The RCDS established an affiliation with the University of Toronto in 1888, but it was not until 1889 that it granted the Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) degrees. In 1925, the RCDS became the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Toronto.

One of the alumni of the Faculty of Dentistry, Dr. Harold Keith Box, DDS, PhD (1890–1956), was as a stakeholder in establishing the Canadian Dental Association Research Foundation (CDAF), organized by a committee of the Canadian Dental Association. The CDAF was the first of its kind in Canada, an organization that focused on providing funding for dental research projects in Canadian dental schools. Due to his contribution to the establishment of the CDAF and the various publications that emerged from his work, Dr. Harold Keith Box is known as the father of dental research in Canada. The Faculty of Dentistry continued to contribute to dental research initiatives and became a distinguished contributor at the international level. In 1921, International Association of Dental Research had four chapters, one of which was in Toronto (in addition to Chicago, Boston and New York). In 1927, the IADR Toronto Chapter was successful in receiving funds for the first hospital internship that ensured students had four free hours per day so that they could devote time to research.

In 1945, after years of negotiations, three University of Toronto Faculty of Dentistry professors, Dr. Frank Lott, Dr. Harvey Reid and Dr. Roy G. Ellis, in their role as members of the CDA Research Committee, were able to secure funding for dental research from the National Research Council of Canada. This ensured that generations of dental researchers had access to funding. With the continuous flow of funding, the Faculty of Dentistry was able to establish the first Dental Public Health specialty in 1946, and with its inception began a long history of effort in research and initiatives that would influence oral health policies in Canada.

The Faculty offers a number of programs. The undergraduate programs include a four-year internationally recognized dental degree Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS), and an International Dentist Advanced Placement Program (IDAPP). Graduate studies programs include MSc or PhD with a research option or in one of ten dental specialty training options, including Dental Anesthesia, Dental Public Health, Endodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology and/or Oral Medicine, Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, Paediatric Dentistry, Periodontics, and Prosthodontics. Approximately 13 yearly residencies for the dental specialty training are available at several of Toronto's teaching hospitals, namely The Hospital for Sick Children, Mount Sinai Hospital, and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. The Faculty also hosts ongoing onsite and online courses and workshops for dental professionals through their Continuing Dental Education unit.

The Faculty of Dentistry has various research foci, including Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Connective Tissues and Regenerative Medicine, Dental Public Health, Education Research, Microbiology, Oral Pathology and Cancer, and Pain and Neuroscience. In addition, the Faculty of Dentistry, in collaboration with the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering, has established the world-renowned Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering (IBBME).

Map of University of Toronto Faculty of Dentistry School of Dentistry, 124 Edward Street, Toronto Ontario M5G 1G6

My BEST Dentists Product News